Erasmus+ is the EU Programme in the fields of education, training, youth and sport for the period 2014-2020. For the first time, the Erasmus program is crossing borders and offering scholarships not only for EU citizens, but also for students from countries outside the EU, in that way removing boundaries between various existing projects, fostering new ideas, attracting new actors from the world of work and civil society and stimulating new forms of cooperation.

 Eligible Countries

The State Education Development Agency of the Republic of Latvia has confirmed the following countries as eligible for cooperation with Riga Technical University in the next study year:

Algeria, Libya, Morocco, Bangladesh, Republic of South Africa, Albania, Kosovo, Serbia, Egypt, Mexico, Brazil, Panama, El Salvador, India, Sri Lanka, Malaysia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, South Korea.

IMPORTANT! Please note that not all Higher Education Institutions from the above mentioned countries are eligible to apply. Before applying, find out whether your University has signed an Inter-Institutional Agreement with RTU for the cooperation within the Erasmus+ program.

Admission procedure
Step 1.

Submit your application at Only online applications will be considered valid. Please apply as a FREE MOVER (see screen-shot below).


Step 2.

It is your responsibility to check with your home university that you will receive credit points for studies at Riga Technical University.

Step 3.

You will be asked to electronically submit a transcript of records (outlining the courses you have taken at your home university), a copy of your passport in PDF and English proficiency confirmation (B2 level (Common European Framework of Reference for Languages) or equivalent is required).

If you wish to apply for courses in the Faculty of Architecture you have to attach your Portfolio.

Step 4.

You will also be asked for Latvian Language test as a proof of proficient Latvian language level if you wish to study in Latvian.

Step 5.

Your Erasmus+ grant will be paid by Riga Technical University.

Step 6.

As you are not an EU student, please check immigration requirements HERE.

When inserting your address in the application at, make sure it is your official registered place of residence as this is crucial for immigration matters.

Step 7.

Please check accommodation with the university and see how to make a booking HERE.

The following documents must be uploaded in the online application (all of the documents must be scanned in PDF and in good quality – easy to read and understand):

  • Official transcript of records (i.e. a list of courses you have completed. The list has to be in English)
  • Copy of your passport
  • English proficiency confirmation (IELTS, TOEFL or a confirmation letter from your home university)
  • Proof of nomination from home university (the Erasmus+ program requires a confirmation of the selection committee of your home university to approve your candidature).
Application deadlines
  • 15 June 2018 (for Fall Semester 2018).
  • 15 November 2018 (for Spring Semester 2019). For studies in  Faculty of Architecture May 15, 2018. This is for students willing to start their study exchange in autumn semester and stay for one semester only or whole academic year (two semesters in total);

If you have any questions, please contact the Erasmus+ coordinator at RTU Ms Anete Beinaraviča via

Partner universities


Polytechnic University of Tirana

University of Tirana

European University of Tirana

Aleksander Moisiu University in Durres


Abdelhamid Ibn Badis University of Mostaganem

Oran University of Science and Technology – Mohamed Boudiaf


Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology

Bosnia and Herzegovina

University of Sarajevo

University of Tuzla

International Burch University

International University of Sarajevo


Universidade do Estado do Amazonas


October 6 University

German University in Cairo

El Salvador

Salvadoran Lutheran University


Vellore Institute of Technology


University of Prishtina

European College of Kosovo

University of Applied Sciences in Ferizaj

University of Gjakova “Fehmi Agani”

University of Mitrovica “Isa Boletini”


University of Tripoli


University of Malaya


El Colegio de Michoacán


Sidi Mohammed Ben Abdellah University

University of Rabat

University of Fes

Cadi Ayyad University


Technical University of Panama

Republic of South Africa

Cape Peninsula University of Technology


University of Novi Sad

University of Belgrade

Singidunum University

University of Kragujevac

John Naisbitt University

University Union

South Korea

Kyungpook National University

Sri Lanka

University of Peradeniya

Dominican Republic

Universidad Iberoamericana (UNIBE)